A month to write

Not writing is like not doing any significant things in my life. I guess I would always feel frustrated every time I haven’t written anything for a very long time. Writing is like a calling. It seems like I either write and feel satisfied or write nothing and feel there’s something lacking in my life. There’s always a need for me to translate my thoughts in a paper or here. So that’s what I’m about to do right now.

It has been almost a month since I last written something. Within four long weeks, I have been into a lot — circumstances that I have loved dearly and circumstances that If I have a chance, I would love to forget. I am just grateful that I have few friends I can somehow consider as a support system because living away from my parents is just hard in so many ways. In just less than a month, my appearance has deflated into a bad shape. I am not eating in the right time  and even if I do, my meals lack of nutrients that I desperately need. Also, I am not getting any decent sleep whenever I’m at my dormitory.

On the bright side of my life, I have experienced a lot of adventure this month.

 

ImageOne of those is when my friends and I went to this buffet restaurant that catered purely dessert. Going in this place was already a challenge and we almost lost hope of getting here because by that time, it was raining hard and there was endless traffic and then we could not get any transportation. I think it was half an hour before we had our ride. We were all very exhausted when we arrived until we saw this:

Image

 

It wasn’t my first time in this place but I still had the same excitement they had. This place had almost all the dessert you could ever think about. We only spent 2 hours of our life here but to us it was already worth it. I would never forget the laughter we had about a certain dessert that we loved. Overall it was an exhausting night but it was a great experience.

 

Studying far away from home can be a little bit sad and sometimes it makes me feel home sick. But my parents believe in me so what choice do I have left? Besides without a degree, I’d never have a chance to get the future that I want. So, yeah, I carry on whatever bullshit stress has for me.

ImageThankfully, my aunt from Dubai came back here in the Philippines for vacation and so I had the excuse to spend long time at home under the legal reason of wanting to have a quality time with them, I swear, this was the kind of break I have long been waiting for. Even though I have only been in school for like a month, for me I have already been messed up enough. A month of school is already too much stress to handle. It just felt refreshing at this time to wander around the mall and being able to buy good books again.

 

Image

 

And then the next day we went to this place. It was like a mini-Thailand as you could see but this was a floating restaurant. They just put different things (aside from buddhas) for customer attraction. My parents didn’t know that I had a little bit alcohol inside my system by this time.

 

 

 

 

ImageWe had sea foods plus some Filipino cuisine for dinner. I liked the way their food taste, it almost tasted like their foods had zero preservatives. (well, of course, you’d never know). What was interesting in this place was that they served the food in a traditional Filipino way. Also, I loved their sour condiment. I swear it was the best condiment in the world.

ImageJust after our first departmental exams, my friends invited me to tag along with them. To shook the stress I got from both sickness and exam preparation, I easily said yes. The mall we went into was not like any other mall. It was spacious, less crowded, peaceful, and the ambiance was refreshing. We had lunch at Bon Chon (it was a group favorite) and then we decided to watch Percy Jacskon, which we all fell in love because of Logan Lerman, and then we went to this ice cream house that looked like it was inside France. Even though, I only had 4 hours of sleep, I managed to enjoy this day.

ImageTo wrap up my August adventures, my parents decided we go to this place (4 hour drive away) they call “Tree Top.” It was like a forest but with stilts connected from one big tree to another so people could walk 50 feet above ground. It was like a Jurassic Park except there were no dinosaurs. Unfortunately, we weren’t allowed to enter and explore the whole place because it was raining hard and there was a storm so we ended up going to the mall. Which somehow irritated me because I only got  5 hours of sleep and I was expecting something amazing rather than spending the whole day at the mall. In simple words, it was a failed adventure.

It was a great month I guess. I was just stressing over several small things this month and that made my life a little gloomy. I guess I should probably start looking always on the bright side of every situation, that way I would save myself from worrying a lot. You know what they say, “The world would be nicer to you when you smile.”