You can be my dream guy

It’s okay if you are not the one who shows up at my front door with cape pins on both of your shoulders, or the guy I envision who lives in a mansion and drives expensively polished cars, or the person who has a fancy 9-5 job at Wall Street. Nope, You don’t have to live up to my fantasy. But you can be your reality.

You are going to make extensive research about me on social media to find out all my interests, favorites, and hobbies so you can align them with mine and make me ultimately happy.

You are going to change lane in the unconventional way and work hard in earning my friends and parents approval, because loving me also involves loving the people that are close to my heart.

You are never going to force me to do anything that makes me feel uncomfortable. In fact, You are patient and willing to wait for the perfect timing when I’m ready to open up completely, to commit, and to love wholeheartedly.

You might not be the typical class valedictorian, or the type of classmate who has been granted scholarship, or the student leader who’s delivered so many speeches. You’re not book smart, but you’re strategic in life. You can find ways how to earn decent money for you, for me, for our future. And sometimes, that’s enough proof for being a responsible guy.

And although you admit that you can be a bit of a cliché for skating and surfing on your spare time, but that doesn’t mean you’re up to look for troubles. TV has painted guys like you quite badly. You have a heart of gold too; you care about everyone’s emotion, and have rapport to those who are less fortunate.

You won’t look the other way but to me only. And you will understand that this is a little bit hard for me to believe after all the tragic love story I’ve been through, but I will give you a little time to prove your loyalty, and you will make sure that I won’t regret a single minute choosing you for the rest of my life.

You cannot guarantee me a perfect relationship, yet you can assure you that no day will end without you apologizing for any of your wrongdoings or understanding me for being on my worst mood.

You can be the guy who’s going to make me feel safe and sound, more so protect me at all cost. It is your responsibility to make sure I reach home without even a scratch on my skin, or no one gets to disrespect me when I walk along the streets after work, or be the one who guards me on subway stations at midnight.

I can count on you that you’re going to make it to every Sunday masses I attend, or prayer services I participate, or a meditation hour of the day I perform because you, too, have faith on Someone who’s bigger than all of us, Someone who promises us an afterlife, Someone I can’t physically touch but can feel the presence.

You can be my number one fan in all that I achieve, my avid supporter in every goal I set my mind into, my best friend who stays by my side on the days I feel low, and my lover who lands kisses on my cheeks when you I soothing. A guy like you can cheer me up and won’t feel ashamed for doing so.

We can stargaze at night and name our own constellations. We can watch movie adaptation premieres of your favorite books. We can walk at a grocery store late at night and grab a litter of ice cream to satisfy our sweet cravings. We can cuddle in your living room and watch TV all day. We can backpack through Southeast Asia or experience a European trail or frighten ourselves as we cross the country of Australia or watch a soccer tournament in Brazil. Then we can go back home and settle down, get married, have kids, and argue whether white picket fence is still a thing or not. We can have a lifetime of companionship together.

You can be your dream guy, not a leading character out of a movie, but someone that’s a scarcity nowadays. You can be your dream guy, not a Disney prince, but someone who won’t be the reason for the holes in your heart. You can be your dream guy, not a cover boy from a magazine, but someone who’s going to still melt my heart up to my white hair days. You can be your dream guy, who looks like a bad boy sometimes to others; who appears to be an ordinary guy that doesn’t immediately stand out in a crowded area; who doesn’t have thousands of followers on social media; but someone who will always look at me as if I am the best gift you have ever won.

 

Published by

The Queer Diary

How did this whole thing started in the first place? Well I think ever since I was a kid, I've always wanted to express myself . Sure I could have picked painting, singing, dancing, playing instruments, crafting, or any of those lovely forms of artistry as a medium for me to channel my thoughts and emotions, but in writing is where my heart belongs. Technically, I had no degree in writing but that doesn't make me less of a writer. I have no idea what the future has in store for me but I've always known deep down in my heart that I want to write. P.S. if you reach this site then please know that I am thankful that you give time for this and that you like to read. Also, no matter what you're going through, believe me when I say things will get better.

4 thoughts on “You can be my dream guy”

  1. Hi, Angelo. Your posts on Thought Catalog led me here. Love the way you put your emotions into writing and the fact that you’re both a CPA and a writer. Whoah!!!! Love, your fellow Filipino! ❤

Leave a Reply

