The Chasing Life TV Show

So lately I’ve been hooked by watching this TV show called Chasing Life. The main plot was all about this girl named April Carver who was in her early twenties working in a newspaper company as a writer, having a quite so good family, and an almost satisfying romantic relationship. On the pilot episode her Uncle broke the news to her that she had leukemia. That scene right there already won my heart – her facial expression when she heard it, the way she said “I’m only 24”, and basically the beginning of the whole story.

The show isn’t really all about the stereotype tragic-drama of a girl who obviously might die in the end — I think it’s bigger than that. There are actually some humor and lots of funny scenes in the series. I know cancer stories almost always easily attract viewers attention but the show doesn’t revolve on that aspect only, there’s more to that and you have to watch the first 7 episodes of the TV show for you to understand what I’m talking about.

I’m merely on Season 1 of Chasing life but already I can’t help but take one step backward, pause, and ponder about everything in my life. Not that I’m getting paranoid with the probability of getting cancer sooner but really the show got me to thinking like there are essentially a lot of people out there in the world who are struggling to stay alive and praying to have more extended time of their lives and I’m just sitting right here comfortably, complaining about little things that I can’t have at the moment.

I wonder if I’m living my everyday life satisfactorily. What if I die tomorrow, am I happy already to leave the earth?

I think most of the time we don’t realize how much we’re taking our time for granted. Like oversleeping, or sitting on the chair all day, or going over our social media accounts over and over. Maybe one day we will look back at the moments we wasted and regret the time we should have spent with our families, we should have spent doing a valuable work we’ve always wanted to finish, we should have spent chasing our dreams, we should have spent traveling more often while we can, we should have spent visiting an old friend, we should have spent making anything but something special.

I don’t want to die young and maybe you don’t too. I’m always afraid of death or even the thought of losing someone I love. But death is imminent – we all know that by now. So maybe it’s not really about who goes first or when. Perhaps it’s doing the right thing while we can.

Published by

The Queer Diary

How did this whole thing started in the first place? Well I think ever since I was a kid, I've always wanted to express myself . Sure I could have picked painting, singing, dancing, playing instruments, crafting, or any of those lovely forms of artistry as a medium for me to channel my thoughts and emotions, but in writing is where my heart belongs. Technically, I had no degree in writing but that doesn't make me less of a writer. I have no idea what the future has in store for me but I've always known deep down in my heart that I want to write. P.S. if you reach this site then please know that I am thankful that you give time for this and that you like to read. Also, no matter what you're going through, believe me when I say things will get better.

Leave a Reply

