SInce You’ve Been Gone.

I don’t know what’s going on in my subconscious mind because I can’t figure out the exact reason why I am not posting photos of books I read for the past three months in social media the way I used to do before. I remember willing myself to maybe at least post just one photo combining all the books I read recently but still nothing has ever came up yet.

Today’s a little different though.

I just finished reading this book by Morgan Matson – Since You’ve Been Gone. I would like to point out that I love her crafts so much that when she released her newest one, I made myself promise to buy it as soon as I could. I started reading Since You’ve Been Gone a month ago and sure I had a hard time going through the end as fast as I could because a) it was a little long b) the font size was a little bit small c) I thought it was a little bit boring compared to her two previous books.

But I end up giving her a 9/10 just like what I gave credits to her other books before. I thought about taking photograph of the ending part of the book and posting it on social media since it got me so much that I instantly felt emotionally sad. But I changed my mind last minute and instead decided to share my thoughts inside my blog so one day when I read back through my old posts, I could easily remember the feeling the book gave me.

Short summary of the story was that Emily and Sloane were inseparable bestfriends who did a lot of things together and shared stories with each other. Until one day Sloane suddenly disappeared without any further notice given to Emily but only left her a list of things to do. That’s how basically the story revolved as Emily tried to accomplish every single thing on the list Sloane gave her in the hopes that by doing so, she would earn Sloane back to her life. Throughout the book Sloane had been a huge mystery.

I am deeply fascinated by any story that includes disappearance of a main character and finding out why she disappeared. I guess subconsciously I love the idea of it and if I could make my own act of disappearance without getting to any deep trouble I would but obviously I can’t do that.

So in the near end, Emily found out a clue of where Sloane was living and went on a quest to find her. Even though they only had a few hours to reconnect each other, it was enough for them to give the readers a satisfied pre-closure. The two of them promised to stay in touch through phone calls or any other means of communication. Al though Emily convinced herself and Sloane that they would be okay, the way the author presented Emily and her soon-to-be-boyfriend leaving Sloane almost got me to my knees and weep a good amount of misery.

“Frank pulled the truck down the driveway, and I turned in my seat to look back. Sloane was walking behind us, holding up one hand in a wave. I waved back, and she followed behind us until we turned unto the main road. I leaned out half the window to wave back at her, and I saw her see this and smile. And she kept following the truck, like we were a very small parade, waving and waving, until Frank took the curve in the road and then she was gone.”

The gloomy weather and constant raining didn’t help my desire to easily get over with the ending. Nevertheless, it’s a great book I’ve had in a long time. I will miss Emily’s adventures and her friendship with Sloane. I feel like I lost a set of friends again.

Published by

The Queer Diary

How did this whole thing started in the first place? Well I think ever since I was a kid, I've always wanted to express myself . Sure I could have picked painting, singing, dancing, playing instruments, crafting, or any of those lovely forms of artistry as a medium for me to channel my thoughts and emotions, but in writing is where my heart belongs. Technically, I had no degree in writing but that doesn't make me less of a writer. I have no idea what the future has in store for me but I've always known deep down in my heart that I want to write. P.S. if you reach this site then please know that I am thankful that you give time for this and that you like to read. Also, no matter what you're going through, believe me when I say things will get better.

Leave a Reply

