Let’s talk about writing.

I can somehow sense that it’s a surprise for a certain number of people about me being able to create a book. I can’t blame them. I mean, at first glance I don’t look like someone who can correct grammars in just a whim or can compose hundreds of words in just few minutes. But I have my blog for over two years now and I have been writing since I was sixteen. I believe the existence of my blog plus my hidden writing works are the only credits I can show to people as a proof that I can write. Al though I don’t have yet a writing degree or any attendance to any writing crash courses, I think that doesn’t make me less of a writer. With vast proud and accomplishment, I consider and claim myself a writer and an author.

  1. How did my book started?

Back when I was seventeen, I have tried and failed twice in an attempt to write a book. I was filled with this magical feeling and I thought I just needed to get a pen and sat down for a while. Normally, I would end up finishing only 10 pages or 20. Either I ran down of inspiration or I just lacked of expertise and experience at that time which lead me to completely abandoning what I have started. I realize now that you can’t just force yourself to make an impressive masterpiece until you’re ready. You need to improve the efficiency of your skills in able for you to create an art.

So I took some time to practice writing randomly, which also gave way to the birth of my blog.

The formal beginning of my book was in May of 2014. I bought two notebooks where I could write whatever I felt like writing. I told myself it would be a training ground for me because all along I knew I would write a book one day so I thought if I wanted that to happen I should do something at the moment. My rules are simple. Everyday, I would write one page about anything my mind could think of, whether it was about my feelings towards the weather, or my opinion towards current issues, or my emotional relations to pop-culture, or a fiction story I could imagine. Due to my laziness I would always let a day pass without me writing a single word. As a punishment, I’d make up for it by writing two pages the next day. Until the 18th of April, I incurred four days penalty. I thought of the easiest way for me to finish a four-pages entry in my notebook. The immediate solution was to make a fictional story. That was how basically it started. It occurred to me that it seemed natural for me to do it. I reminded myself not to put some heavy pressure and just go on with what I was doing. I said to myself that I would continue writing and developing the story and I’d see what’s going to happen from there.

I reached over 50 pages and already I was blown away. I was like, “Oh my God I did it. I never done something like this before.” I immediately calmed myself and remain focused on the flow of the story I was creating. The original plan was only 200 pages because I told myself it was my first time to write and I had to give myself a break. However, in the end I done writing a 349 draft pages which was a really huge blessing.

2. Where did I write?

Mostly when I was home from the city because that’s where I thought I could write better. Al thought I tried to write few pages during my school days inside Manila, those parts were usually got out of the story or revised thoroughly whenever I re-wrote.

Of course you’re probably wondering now how was I able to write when I still had a school to deal with? That’s exactly a good question I need to answer. So as you know, I am a graduating student and the demand of school works were intense. I thought I should postpone writing for a while and resume it as soon as I’m done with college but I didn’t want to do it. My soul would feel terrible whenever I was not writing, and so I had to split my time between doing school works and writing. I made a plan that I would only write on weekends and weekdays would solely be devoted on school. However that didn’t went cleanly as planned because there were times that inspiration struck me hard like a lightning so I would decide to go home and continue writing whatever it was that transpired inside my mind. This massively explains the reason why I went home a lot and why I had a lot of absences in my classes.

3.What were my inspirations.

This is an interesting topic I need to address. It might sound strange to you but I got most of my inspiration to the stars.There was something about them that rung my artistry bell. It felt like whenever I looked up to the galaxy above, I knew right away that I needed to write. Also credits would have to go to music industry geniuses like Taylor Swift and Ed Sheeran. Their songs helped me through a lot especially when I was trying to create important parts of the story. As to the inquiry if I have ever been into a relationship? The answer is an immediate no. I’d like to point out here that just because I didn’t experience the actual thing of what it felt like to fell in love didn’t mean I could not create and write a wonderful love story. I had to admit that my very own tale regarding romance was so boring I couldn’t even dare to make it as part of my inspiration. Al though the chapter 3 of my book was solely devoted to a somehow same experience I had in the past. More so, Connor Franta was a huge inspiration to me especially in the near end of my book. I could not pin a finger regarding the spell he gave me but by just simply looking at his instagram posts was enough for me to raise on my feet and write in an instant. Lastly, death served as a driving factor for me to write. I fear oblivion. I always thought that I didn’t want my story and adventures in this world to perish with me as my body turned to dust. Through writing I could share to the humanity all the wonderful memories I had with me.

4. How did I arrive with my characters?

Since I was a kid my imaginations were always wild and creative. I could create conversations by just talking to myself. My ability to create a fictional story was an edge and a legacy I had that the other billions of people in this world didn’t potentially possess, and I would always be proud of that. The characters inside my book were either based on my perception regarding the attributes I wanted a person to possess or based solely to what I saw through my friends. Writing isn’t just all about intense artistry, authentic human interactions can help writing to be a whole lot easier too.

5. My advice for all the aspiring writers. 

This will come off as a totally cliche but it is true that you have to follow what your heart tells you to do. You can be in a different field right now and far from where you want your life to head into but I’m here to tell you it’s okay. I’m also a late bloomer in chasing what I’m really passionate about however once I learn it I have this sudden crave in fulfilling and make it happen. If you feel frustrated with the slow improvement or the dullness of your calling, I advise you take time to develop your legacy. It will come in the right time, you don’t have to pressure yourself. Bear in mind that it is only you who can be the only source of telling the world how it should remember you. It’s terrifying to be branded with something you can never be proud of, so work hard in attaining the pursuits of your dreams.

Published by

The Queer Diary

How did this whole thing started in the first place? Well I think ever since I was a kid, I've always wanted to express myself . Sure I could have picked painting, singing, dancing, playing instruments, crafting, or any of those lovely forms of artistry as a medium for me to channel my thoughts and emotions, but in writing is where my heart belongs. Technically, I had no degree in writing but that doesn't make me less of a writer. I have no idea what the future has in store for me but I've always known deep down in my heart that I want to write. P.S. if you reach this site then please know that I am thankful that you give time for this and that you like to read. Also, no matter what you're going through, believe me when I say things will get better.

Leave a Reply

